Sous Vide Hard Boiled Eggs Hack

Welcome to what should be Freaky Spice Friday or Fine Dining Friday.  The reason it isn’t is twofold:

  1.  I was having a hard time coming up with anything to write about either topic.
  2. I came up with a sous vide trick I really need to share.

So ok, we’ll do something about fine dining or some spice next Friday.  Today, let me begin with a little background:  I love hard boiled eggs.  Ever since I was a child, they’ve been high on my list of favorite foods.  When I started working out seriously, I started eating two of them after my workouts for the protein.  I know there is some controversy over whether or not this is a good idea, but since my cholesterol is fine, I figure it can’t hurt..  especially since I enjoy them so much.

When we got our water oven, my appreciation of hard boiled eggs reached a new level.  After an hour in a 165º water bath, eggs come out the perfect flavor and consistency.  These are the best hard boiled eggs I’ve ever tried, bar none.  Problem is, they are invariably a nightmare to peel, but more on that later.

Anyway, this afternoon I dumped a carton of 18 eggs in 165º water, came back 1.5 hours later, and proceeded to scoop the eggs out of the water, 1 by 1 with a slotted spoon.  I’d done this several times before, but today, with every egg I removed, I became more and more aware of the depth of my own stupidity (incidentally, I love it when that happens).

Why the hell was I taking these things out one by one?  had I put them in a colander and then submerged them, I could have pulled them out in one fell swoop with the help of an oven mitt or two.  Further, I could then have either run them under cold water or dumped them in an ice bath prior to refrigeration, all in the colander.  What a schmuck!

Thing is, I haven’t seen this little hack mentioned anywhere, and a quick search yielded nothing.  So the possibilities are:

  1.  No one else has thought of this (highly unlikely)
  2. Everyone who thought of it figured it was too obvious to post anywhere (somewhat more likely)
  3. I just didn’t look hard enough (most likely, as I didn’t search very hard).

Regardless of which it is, the hack is worth sharing.  If it’s already online, it sure isn’t easy to find, and hopefully this will be.

Now, as to the peelability of the eggs, it is, indeed, enough to make a grown man pull what little is left of his hair out.  I even tried the water in the glass trick, and it did nothing.

In the hopes that leaving the eggs in the water longer would alleviate this nightmare, I left them in for 90 minutes today, rather than the 60 which is generally recommended and which I’ve used in the past.  And indeed, the first egg I peeled was not nearly as terrible as my previous batches.  I’ll see how the rest of them are, and probably try 3 hours next time.  I will, of course, post when I have any results to share.

In the mean time, have a delicious weekend, and Bon Appetit!

One thought on “Sous Vide Hard Boiled Eggs Hack

Leave a Reply

