Throwback Thursday Continues: Happy Anniversary to Us!!

In anticipation of our 11th wedding anniversary tomorrow, we started reminiscing about some our favorite anniversary celebrations. Our 7th anniversary extravaganza in Buenos Aires stands out amongst the very best.  Not sure where we will end up tomorrow . . . we are just hoping that it will be at least half as good as this one!!

Bon Appetit!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

As someone who responds to the question “So, how was your trip to . . . ?” with “It was great, you would’t believe the dinner we had at . . . “, it is no wonder that many of the best memories of my life revolve around food.

With that said, four months ago my husband and I celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary at Hernán Gipponi Restaurant at the Fierro Hotel Boutique. We moved to Buenos Aires about 2 years ago and we are having a great time eating our way around town. But this was a special night and we wanted a special meal. But that also meant no steak, no pizza, no empanadas, no milanesas (not that I don’t love them all) and when we asked around to our foody and wino friends, hands down, Hernán Gipponi was the answer we received. Here it is 4 months later and I am still thinking about that meal.

We had the 9 course Menú degustación (Tasting Menu). I was more interested in photographing each scrumptious dish that was presented to us (and of course gazing adoringly into my husband’s eyes ;-)) that I didn’t write down exactly what each dish was, but In this case, a picture truly is worth a thousand words.

Hernan GipponiHernan Gipponi

From our table we were able to see the the chef, Hernán Gipponi, putting together his edible masterpieces all the while being doted on by the wait staff. Our glasses were refilled, our bread replenished and our questions answered about what we were being served.

Hernan GipponiHernan Gipponi

I will be honest, it was a pricey meal. But I cannot stress enough that it was, without a doubt, well worth every peso! With that said, much to my chagrin, we have unfortunately not had a chance to get back there. I had meant to post my review on Trip Advisor the very next day but sadly it never happened. I was hoping to get back there again before commenting on the restaurant (as well as giving a detailed description of our dinner) but I just couldn’t wait any longer. Like I said, our meal that night is a memory that just won’t go away.

Hernan GipponiHernan Gipponi

Don’t miss it during your next trip to Buenos Aires. And if you already live here . . . what are you waiting for???

Hernan GipponiHernan Gipponi

(Sorry for the poor quality of the images . . . the vino was definitely flowing!!)

Leave a Reply

