What do you do with Baked Shrimp Powder?

Until a few days ago I had never heard of Smoked Shrimp Powder.  According to Samuel Obeng, owner of the Bronx restaurant Papaye, smoked shrimp powder is a West African flavor staple that tastes as if you somehow barbecued fish sauce.  Well doesn’t that sound tasty!!

After reading about “A Spicy Spinach Stew from Ghana” in the NYT Magazine from February 25, 2015, I knew it was something I wanted to know more about.

But I have to tell you . . .it sure is tough to find. I found Mexican Shrimp Powder on Amazon but I am pretty sure that isn’t the same thing.   I did manage to find a shop called Africa by the Bay in Tampa that carries a wide array of products from all over Africa.  Not even sure they deliver, but I am sure they can direct you in the right place.

Would love to try and make that Spicy Spinach Stew from Ghana . . . but only if I can find Smoked Shrimp Powder.  Let me know if you have any luck!!

Leave a Reply

