What the heck is Piri Piri??

When I first became aware of Victoria Amory’s collection of gourmet condiments, I had no idea what piri piri was.

I am a ketchup and mayo nut, so of course I got excited to see her ketchup and mayo collections which are inspired by the flavors and aromas of the Mediterranean coastline. With flavors like Champagne Ketchup, Sherry Ketchup, Smokey BBQ Ketchup and Roasted Garlic Mayo, Classic Lemon Mayo and Fine Herb Mayo, I was dreaming of the meals I would prepare.

But what really intrigued me was her Piri Piri Collection. What is piri piri? Well, according to Wikipedia, “Piri piri, also called African bird’s eye chili, is a cultivar of Capsicum frutescens, one of the sources of chili pepper that grows both wild and domesticated. It is a small member of the Capsicum genus.”

Ok, but still, what the heck does that mean? Victoria does a much better job saying that her piri piri collection is inspired by the flavors and aromas of the Mediterranean coastline and is her ode to the ancient Portuguese explorers on their travels to southern Africa. And it is the spicy peppers found in the African coastline that are the inspiration for both the red and green piri piri sauces in the collection. (Also included in the collection is her Romesco sauce which is a classic Catalan sauce made with roasted peppers, almonds, hazelnuts and garlic and flavored with pimenton, Spain’s smokey paprika. .. a nice addition.)

Now the creative juices really started flowing. What would I make? I started scouring on line to find piri piri recipes but a great deal of what I found were recipes to make my own piri piri. Could be fun . . time consuming and messy, but fun. But using Victoria’s piri piri sauce instead . . .voila. . .a delicious meal with a lot less work!!

I finally found a great recipe on Epicurious.com The reviews I read online were outstanding and I have to say that with Victoria Amory’s Green Chili Piri Piri . . . it really lived up to the hype.

Looking forward to my next meal with her Red Chili Piri Piri . . . and then her Romesco Sauce . . . and then her mayo and then her ketchup (in no particular order!!) Many great meals await me!

Bon Appetit!!

Leave a Reply

